© 2019 by Benz + Walter GmbH

qeqefqf.GIF

Dr.-Ing. Michael Benz, Managing Partner

Since January 1, 2017, together with his partner Dr.-Ing. Stefan Walter, Dr.-Ing. Michael Benz has been one of the two managing partners of Benz + Walter GmbH, specialist consultants in the areas of logistics, mobility, digitalization and Big Data Analytics.

Michael Benz is dedicated to the business development and evolution of logistics and mobility companies as well as digitization projects in cities and municipalities using holistic business analysis (Supply Chain Analytics) and business intelligence applications (Big Data Analytics) and strategic Consulting.

He has been active in the field of logistics focussing on process management and strategy for over 25 years.

Before his time at Benz + Walter GmbH, Dr. Benz was an industry expert and specialist consultant with a focus on supply chain management and information logistics for the areas of logistics and mobility at Teradata GmbH, Frankfurt am Main for more than 11 years.

Previous to that, he worked as a consultant at IBM Business Consulting Services, Frankfurt am Main (formerly PricewaterhouseCoopers Consulting) for 6 years, where he was responsible for acquisition, management and implementation of logistics strategy and process consulting projects in the fields of transport and logistics.

Dr. Benz is the author of numerous professional publications and was Professor of Logistics and Operations at the International School of Management (ISM) in Frankfurt am Main until March 2019.

At the ISM he was in charge of the English-language Masters program "International Logistics and Supply Chain Management" and developed it into one of the most successful SCM programs in Germany.

From 2015 until 2019, together with Prof. Dr. Böckenholt and Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Walter, he headed the institute "SCM@ISM" – Supply Chain Management, Cluster and Mobility Management, founded by Benz + Walter, at the ISM in Frankfurt am Main.

Dr. Benz is an industrial engineer and received his doctorate from Prof. Dr.-Ing. H. Baumgarten at the TU Berlin on the subject of „Environmental Compatibility of Transport Chains” in 1999. The work was awarded a prize by the German Logistics Association (BVL) in 2000.

© 2019 by Benz + Walter GmbH

qeqefqf.GIF

Dr.-Ing. Michael Benz, Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter

Zusammen mit seinem Partner Dr.-Ing. Stefan Walter ist Dr.-Ing. Michael Benz seit dem 01. Januar 2017 einer der beiden geschäftsführenden Gesellschafter der Benz + Walter GmbH, die sich auf die Fachberatung in den Themen Logistik, Mobilität und Digitalisierung/Big Data Analytics spezialisiert hat.

 

Dr. Benz beschäftigt sich mit den Themen Geschäftsentwicklung und Weiterentwicklung von Unter­nehmen auf dem Gebiet der ganzheitlichen Unternehmensanalyse (Supply Chain Analytics) durch Business Intelligence Anwendungen (Big Data Analytics) und der strategischen Beratung für Logistik- und Mobilitätsunternehmen sowie Digitalisierungsprojekte in Städten und Kommunen.

 

Er ist seit über 25 Jahren auf dem Gebiet der Logistik mit Fokus Prozessmanagement und Strategie tätig.

 

Vor seiner Zeit bei der Benz + Walter GmbH war Dr. Benz über 11 Jahre Industrie-Experte und Fachberater mit Fokus Supply Chain Management und Informationslogistik für die Bereiche Logistik und Mobilität bei der Teradata GmbH, Frankfurt a.M.

 

Zuvor war er 6 Jahre als Berater bei der IBM Business Consulting Services, Frankfurt a.M. (vormals PricewaterhouseCoopers Unternehmensberatung) für die Akquisition, Leitung und Durchführung von Projekten auf den Gebieten der Logistikstrategie- und Prozessberatung im Bereich Transport und Logistik verantwortlich

 

Dr. Benz ist Autor zahlreicher Fachveröffentlichungen und war bis März 2019 Professor für Logistics and Operations an der International School of Management (ISM) in Frankfurt. Er verantwortete dort die Studiengangsleitung für den englischsprachigen Master-Studiengang „International Logistics and Supply Chain Management“ und baute diesen zu einem der erfolgreichsten SCM-Studiengänge in Deutschland auf.

 

Er leitete von 2015 bis 2019 zusammen mit Prof. Dr. Böckenholt und Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Walter das von Benz und Walter gegründete Institut „SCM@ISM“ – Supply Chain Management, Cluster and Mobility Management an der International School of Management, Frankfurt am Main.

 

Dr.-Ing. Michael Benz ist Wirtschaftsingenieur und promovierte 1999 bei Prof. Dr.-Ing. H. Baumgarten an der TU Berlin zu dem Thema „Umweltverträglichkeit von Transportketten“. Die Arbeit wurde durch die Bundesvereinigung Logistik e.V. im Jahr 2000 prämiert.